Old 02-19-2009, 03:05 PM   #1
Ellie Arroway

Speciation

Okay, I'm pretty new to Biology. I remember being totally disinterested in high school but I'm going back to school to study anthropology (possibly biological anthropology if I'm smart enough )

So, since I'm already 38 and would like to get my B.S. quickly so I can move on to my Masters I'm going to take the CLEP for Biology and as many other courses I can.

That being said, I've got a Self Teaching Guide for Biology and I also go an Evolution textbook from Barnes and Noble. I have to read everything 2 or 3 times to really grasp it but it's really remarkable and fascinating. I wish I had got into this stuff back in high school. I was too busy chasing boys and smoking weed though

What I don't really understand is how a common ancestor could give rise to so many varied animals. I understand that we're all distantly related and DNA tells us this. I just don't see how you go from fruit fly to human ( I know it didn't happen exactly like that but you get my point). I can see species changing but how do you start with ONE type of bacteria to get an animal and then all the different classes and phylum, et cetera?

Please help!
Old 02-19-2009, 03:57 PM   #2
Smellyoldgit
Stinkin' Mod

The ahem... "serious" bits of this thread may be of interest.

We're still waiting for 10's next instalment.

Stop the Holy See men!
Smellyoldgit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2009, 05:31 PM   #3
Tenspace
I Live Here

Ouch! Stop poking

Yes, it's time for a new installment. I'll write it this weekend.

Ellie, go pick up Dawkin's "The Ancestor's Tale". It does a great job of explaining how all this diversity came about. It's the size of a college textbook, but much more interesting.

If you have any specific questions, feel free to post them in this thread, and I'll answer them for you.