Old 04-11-2010, 08:51 AM   #1
ILOVEJESUS
I Live Here

Should organ donation be mandatory?

There has been a littl bit of fuss made in the UK about hospitals using organs without consent. To be honest as it is in the interest of helping people live a lot of the time, should it not be compulsory to donate any useful organs after death?? I think so.
ILOVEJESUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 08:56 AM   #2
Smellyoldgit
Stinkin' Mod

I'll be sorry for the poor bastard who gets my liver.

Stop the Holy See men!
Smellyoldgit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:00 AM   #3
ILOVEJESUS
I Live Here

It may increase someones existance for a few hours I take it lol.
Old 04-11-2010, 09:33 AM   #4
psychodiva
I Live Here

I think it should be an opt-out system but then I work in healthcare

“'I am offended by that.' Well, so fucking what." Fry
psychodiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:41 AM   #5
Smellyoldgit
Stinkin' Mod

I agree. The bigger the 'parts bank', the better the chances of improved tissue matches and less reliance on anti rejection drugs. I can think of no reasonable grounds for anyone objecting to an opt-out system.

Stop the Holy See men!
Smellyoldgit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 09:52 AM   #6
inkadu
Obsessed Member

How about not donating organs to people who are selfish about their parts? Seems fair. I won't give you mine if you won't give me yours.

If religion were based on facts, it would be called science, and no one would believe it. -- Stephen Colbert
inkadu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 10:00 AM   #7
Irreligious
I Live Here

Quote:
inkadu wrote View Post
How about not donating organs to people who are selfish about their parts? Seems fair. I won't give you mine if you won't give me yours.
That seems awfully vindictive. I think I'd prefer a system where people are allowed to opt out of organ donation altogether, either as a giver or a receiver. That way, it's their choice.