Old 03-02-2008, 07:48 AM   #1
agfmama

Thumbs up Hello all!

I'm Sonya, wife to Steve who showed me there is no "light"...haha...and mom to my darling girl PooButt. If you have or have ever had a breastfed infant, you will understand the endearing nickname...

We live in La., and are surrounded by religion everywhere. I can't even go to the grocery store without getting harassed by one church or another. My hardest job will be teaching my daughter when she is old enough to ask about religion, especially since my step-mother will be sure to ask me to send her to every church camp, Sunday School, etc...

I'm pretty new to defining myself as an Atheist. I've wavered on the Agnostic fence for a few years now. I grew up Southern Baptist, got "saved", baptized, heavily involved in youth group in high school. Looked down on those "poor unsaved masses", demonized those who chose pre-marital sex, drinking, abortion, anything the church deemed "immoral". I am ashamed of who I tried to be. I say "tried" to be, because deep down, I didn't even believe. I wanted that faith, the fellowship, the rapturous look everyone had on their faces. I wanted so much to believe there was a God who loved me, and, even though he allowed me to be abused, abandoned, and unloved for so much of my childhood, he had a purpose for me in the end. It would all be worth it.

What a crock of shit. Wait, can I say "shit" here?? Ah well, anyway....

There are those who say to unbelievers, "Wait until you have children. No way will you be able to look at them and say there is no God." If anything, PooButt's birth solidified my atheism. I looked at her and remembered all the horrors of my childhood and asked myself, "What 'all-powerful Father' would allow those things to happen to someone as pure, beautiful, innocent and helpless as this?"