Old 09-24-2016, 11:05 AM   #1
Heretic
New Member!

Heretic

First things first. I am 58, a Brit and I'm an Atheist.

The label Heretic was given to me, while I was still a Christian, by other Christians. It's a label I have never been ashamed of. I became an Atheist about 20+ years ago as a result of a long progression from a Cultist to Born Again Christian through Christian Mysticism onwards to Atheism.

I was at one time a deprogrammer, helping people recover from indoctrination by anything from Hare Krishna to far left political parties.

By trade I have been a Computer Programmer, An IT Teacher and an Internet Helpdesk. I am now disabled with a partially paralysed left arm and suffer from a Chronic Pain condition that I have taken 3 different painkillers for over 10 years.

In a nutshell that's me.

Peace

Heretic
Heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 11:22 AM   #2
AtomJack

Welcome!
AtomJack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 01:27 PM   #3
Sinfidel
Obsessed Member

Quote:
Heretic wrote View Post
First things first. I am 58, a Brit and I'm an Atheist.

Peace

Heretic

Hello! So, you too are enjoying what Mother Teresa called kisses from God. I wish He'd go away, although Tylenol keeps Him at bay for a while. I can sympathize because arthritic pain from gout flareups render my left hand just about useless, and, wouldn't you know it, I'm left handed. But enough about the golden years, laughter is still the best medicine, and rattling the cages of theologues, who are in short supply here, and thus need to be appreciated and hugged occasionally (not too closely), is more fun than an American election. Welcome, and share the mirth, and a glass or two or three....

Use foolproof airtight logic on a mind that's closed and you're dead. - William J. Reilly, Opening Closed Minds
Sinfidel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2016, 01:41 PM   #4
dogpet
Obsessed Member

Quote:
Heretic wrote View Post